ВОСТОЧНО-АМЕРИКАНСКАЯ ЕПАРХИЯ
Русской Православной Церкви Заграницей
РПЦЗ
Официальный сайт
ВИКАРИЙ ВОСТОЧНО-АМЕРИКАНСКОЙ ЕПАРХИИ

Преосвященнейший ЛУКА
Епископ Сиракузский
Викарий Восточно-Американской епархии

Епископ Лука (Мурьяка) родился 10 ноября 1951 г. в Филадельфии (шт. Пенсильвания, США) в православной русинской семье выходцев из Карпатороссии. С детства посещал церковь св. Архангела Михаила в Филадельфии, принадлежавшую в тот период Северо-Американской митрополии. Во время учебы в Хартвикском колледже в г. Онеонта, шт. Нью-Йорк (колледж окончил в 1973 г.), неоднократно посещал Св. Троицкий монастырь в Джорданвилле. В это время решил принять монашество и добился согласия родителей на поступление в Св. Троицкую духовную семинарию в Джорданвилле. По прибытии в монастырь подал прошение на зачисление в число братии. В 1976 г., на праздник святого Моисея Угрина, настоятелем монастыря епископом Манхэттенским Лавром (Шкурлой) принят в послушники, нес послушание в переплетной мастерской, писал иконы.

В 1980 г. архиепископом Лавром пострижен в малую схиму с наречением имени Лука в честь св. апостола и евангелиста Луки. 12 июля 1981 г. рукоположен в сан иеромонаха. В 1978 г. окончил Св. Троицкую духовную семинарию. С 1979 г. преподавал в семинарии апологетику, Новый Завет, вероучение и сравнительное богословие. Занимал должности инспектора семинарии, позднее – ее декана. В 1981 г. окончил Сиракузский университет (шт. Нью-Йорк). Работал над докторской степенью в Университете штата Нью-Йорк в Олбани. В Св. Троицком монастыре в течение ряда лет исполнял послушание благочинного, позднее стал духовником обители.

Был членом комиссии по переговорам с Русской Православной Церковью Московского Патриархата и делегатом IV Всезарубежного Собора Русской Православной Церкви Заграницей (май 2006 г.), где выступил с докладом "Миссия Русской Православной Церкви Заграницей". Решением Архиерейского Синода РПЦЗ от 18-20 апреля 2007 г. включен в состав официальной делегации, направленной на подписание Акта о каноническом общении.

 В 2007 г. вошел в научно-редакционный совет, созданный Московской духовной академией и Институтом всеобщей истории РАН для работы над фундаментальным исследованием "История русского православного зарубежья". 21 мая 2008 г. избран настоятелем Св. Троицкого монастыря, 6 сентября того же года решением Архиерейского Синода РПЦЗ назначен ректором Св. Троицкой духовной семинарии. В январе 2009 г. был делегатом на Поместном Соборе Русской Православной Церкви от монашествующих Восточно-Американской епархии. 5 мая 2009 г. решением Архиерейского Собора РПЦЗ включен в состав образованной тогда же комиссии по диалогу с Православной Церковью в Америке.

6 декабря 2018 г. Архиерейским Синодом РПЦЗ избран епископом Сиракузским, викарием Восточно-Американской епархии. 28 декабря это решение было утверждено на заседании Священного Синода Русской Православной Церкви (журнал №116). Наречен во епископа 11 февраля 2019 г., хиротонисан 12 февраля. Богослужения в Св. Троицком монастыре возглавил митрополит Восточно-Американский и Нью-Йоркский Иларион.

 

 

Фотоальбомы
Церковный календарь

   

ВОСТОЧНО-АМЕРИКАНСКАЯ ЕПАРХIЯ | Русской Православной Церкви Заграницей

EASTERN AMERICAN DIOCESE
Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia
ROCOR
Official Website
VICAR BISHOP OF THE EASTERN AMERICAN DIOCESE

His Grace LUKE
Bishop of Syracuse
Vicar of the Eastern American Diocese

Bishop Luke (Murianka) was born on November 10, 1951 in Philadelphia, PA to an Orthodox Rusyn family of émigrés from Carpatho-Russia. In his childhood he attended the church of Archangel Michael in Philadelphia, belonging at the time to the North American Metropolia. During his studies at Hartwick College in Oneonta, NY (graduated in 1973), he frequented Holy Trinity Monastery in Jordanville. During this time, he decided to become a monastic, and with the consent of his parents, entered Holy Trinity Theological Seminary in Jordanville. Upon entering the monastery, he submitted a petition to be accepted to the monastery brethren. In 1976, the feast of St. Moses the Hungarian, the monastery rector, Bishop Laurus (Škurla) of Manhattan tonsured him a novice, fulfilling his obedience in the book-binding and icon painting workshops.

In 1980, Archbishop Laurus tonsured him into the Lesser Schema and given the name Luke in honor of the Holy Apostle and Evangelist Luke. On July 12, 1981, he was ordained a hieromonk. In 1978, he graduated from Holy Trinity Seminary. From 1979, he taught apologetics, the New Testament, creed and comparative theology. He held the post of inspector of the seminary, and later – its dean. In 1981 he graduated from the University of Syracuse (New York State). He worked on a doctoral degree at the University of New York at Albany. In the Holy Trinity Monastery for several years he performed the obedience of the dean, and later became the spiritual father of the monastery.

He was a member of the commission on negotiations with the Russian Orthodox Church of the Moscow Patriarchate and a delegate to the IV All-Diaspora Council of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia (May 2006), where he spoke on the mission of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia. By the decision of the Synod of Bishops of ROCOR from April 18-20, 2007, was included in the official delegation sent at the signing of the Act of Canonical Communion.

In 2007, he entered the scientific and editorial board created by the Moscow Theological Academy and the Institute of General History of the Russian Academy of Sciences to work on the fundamental research "History of the Russian Orthodox Diaspora." On May 21, 2008, he was elected abbot of Holy Trinity Monastery; on September 6 of that year, by the decision of the Synod of Bishops of ROCOR, he was appointed rector of Holy Trinity Seminary. In January 2009, he was a delegate to the Local Council of the Russian Orthodox Church representing the monastics of the Eastern American Diocese. On May 5, 2009, by the decision of the Council of Bishops, he was included in the commission formed at the same time, on dialogue with the Orthodox Church in America.

On December 6, 2018, by the decision of the Synod of Bishops he was elected Bishop of Syracuse, Vicar of the Eastern American Diocese. On December 28, this decision was approved at a meeting of the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church (Journal №116).

He was nominated a bishop on February 11, 2019, and consecrated on February 12 during the divine services in Holy Trinity Monastery led by Metropolitan Hilarion of Eastern America & New York.

 

 

Photos
Liturgical

   

Eastern American Diocese | Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia